Chapter Seven: Estrogen

Generation Two: Percival Thiago

Cover

Chapter Seven: Estrogen

1

Life in the Thiago house had settled into a pretty normal routine. Jan was happy to stay home and take care of the girls and her garden while Percy was at work. Once he got home, he would make dinner while Fanchon did her homework, and they would all have some family time before setting off to do their own thing before bed. The routine worked so well for Percy that it never occurred to him to change it, until Jan pulled him aside on night before bed.
“I want another baby,” she announced.
“A baby?” Percy repeated, surprised, but it a good way.
“I want to have a baby together, and I don’t want a massive age difference between the girls and their brother or sister,” She explained.
“Yeah,” Percy agreed. “I want a baby, too.”
“Okay,” Jan grinned. “Lets have a baby, then!”
2

“Well, before we do that,” Percy reached into his pocket and pulled out the ring he’d been carrying around with him at all times for the past month, just waiting for the right moment.
“Yes!” Jan gasped, before Percy could even ask the question.

3

“Hey, I had a speech,” he laughed. “I had it all ready! It was going to be so romantic.”
“Lets hear it, then,” Jan said expectantly. “It better be cheesy.”
“Oh, it’s so cheesy,” Percy assured her, and cleared his throat before beginning. “Jan, I never expected to fall in love again. I wasn’t looking for someone to spend my life with. I didn’t think I needed anyone but my girls. And in a way, I was right. I didn’t need just anyone. I did need you. I don’t know how I could have gotten through the last year without you. Thank you, so much. Thank you for being my lifeline, and for putting up with me when I couldn’t be yours. And thank you for allowing me to help you raise Jette. I love you, Jan, and I love Jette. We’re already a family, I know, but I want to make a commitment to you both. So, with that said, will you marry me?”
Jan stood in silence for a second, and then kissed her fiancee.

5

Fanchon and Greer were thrilled when Percy and Jan told them they were getting married. Greer already called Jan ‘Mom,’ as she was the only mother she’d ever known. Fanchon was having a bit of a harder time doing the same, but she did love Jan all the same. In fact, Jan had taught both girls how to ice skate.
“Do you think they’ll have a baby?” Fanchon asked her sister.
“I dunno,” Greer shrugged, and nearly fell over.
“I bet they will. Married people usually have babies.”
Greer didn’t care. She just concentrated on her skates. She didn’t even know where babies came from yet, and as far as she was concerned, she was still Daddy’s baby.

6

The girls did pretty much everything together. In fact, it was Fanchon who seemed to rely on Greer. The little sister usually lead when it came to their games and who would do what. They both just liked it better that way.

7

It wasn’t long before Jette outgrew her crib and required a room of her own. She was already a very curious kid, and so they got her all the tools she would need to be a little scientist.

8

Jette was just as pretty as her mother, and had an insatiable need to learn whatever she could. She of course got along great with Fanchon and Greer.

9

Jette decided to build an igloo in the back yard. She employed her sisters to help her, but she directed where blocks should be placed and how big they should be. When Percy came home and saw it, he couldn’t help but be impressed. Not only was Jette smart and rescourceful, but their teamwork was incredible.

10

Not long after Jette no longer needed a crib, Jan found out she was pregnant. She and Percy were both so happy, but it didn’t take long for the morning sickness to kick in, which put a bit of a damper on the whole thing. Jan hadn’t been all that sick when she was pregnant with Jette, and she felt like she was making up for it now.

11

Domingo didn’t care how sick she was, though. He made sure to keep her active and throwing his ball.

12

A month into her pregnancy, Jan and Percy got married in a small, simple ceremony. They kept it to just family, and though it wasn’t all that elegant, it was perfect in their eyes.

13

Jan’s brothers, Louie and Carlisle, came, along with Louie’s wife Caroline, and Jan’s aunt Eunice.

14

Their first kiss as man and wife took place at their home, the place they loved most, and was cheered on by all of the people they loved most. What more could they have asked for?

15

The night of the wedding, Jan went up to Jette’s room to have a one on one.
“You know you’re always going to be my baby,” Jan asked.
“I know,” Jette rolled her eyes. “I’m happy about the baby, Momma.”
“I know you know, but I want you to hear it.” Jan hugged Jette close. “I love you.”
“Love you too,” Jette hugged her back.

16

The Thiago’s headed to the library, for Jan and Percy to read a couple new books about infants. Things had apparently changed in the past seven years since Jette and Greer were infants. The girls found some books to read, too, while they were there.

17

The library also had a children’s room with tons of toys. Jette went right for the blocks table, and the other two followed.
“Look, Daddy, I made a castle,” Greer pointed to her creation.
“The towers are called turrets,” Jette said, just to share her knew knowledge that she read in the book she’d checked out.

18

Percy and Jan decided to find out the sex of their baby. It turned out that they were having a little girl.
“I’m going to be outnumbered five to one,” Percy said with a smile. “This house has a whole lot of estrogen.”

Leave a Reply

